Skip to content

Federal holidays in 2016

Below is a list of federal holidays for 2016. Including the weekday they land on and how many days until the day.

There are eleven Federal Holidays. including

New Year's Day, Martin Luther King Jr. Day, Presidents' Day(Washington's Birthday), Memorial Day, Juneteenth National Independence Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Columbus Day, Veterans Day, Thanksgiving Day and Christmas Day.

DateHolidayDays until
January 1 (Friday)New Year's Daypass
January 18 (Monday)Martin Luther King Jr. Daypass
February 15 (Monday)Presidents' Daypass
May 30 (Monday)Memorial Daypass
June 20 (Monday)Juneteenth National Independence Daypass
July 4 (Monday)Independence Daypass
September 5 (Monday)Labor Daypass
October 10 (Monday)Columbus Daypass
November 11 (Friday)Veterans Daypass
November 24 (Thursday)Thanksgiving Daypass
December 25 (Sunday)Christmas Daypass

On these days, all non-essential government employees are off work, and most government offices (including post offices) are closed.

See federal holidays for a specific year

See all holidays for a specific year

See holidays broken down by month